jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2020 Jack Webster Awards:

The 2001 Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos by Dave Thomson

Jack Webster Awards winners group photo
2001 Jack Webster Awards winners
(click on the image to enlarge)

Best News Reporting of the Year - Print
Kim Bolan
Vancouver Sun
Air India: Charges At Last
  • David Baines – Vancouver Sun – Lions Society Loses $3.86 million
  • Jeff Lee and Suzanne Wilton – Vancouver Sun and Calgary Herald – BC Killer Prime Suspect in Brutal Murders of Two Women

Best News Reporting of the Year - Radio
Vik Adhopia
CBC Radio
The Doctors Crisis
  • Theresa Lalonde – CBC Radio – The Heather Thomas Murder
  • Paisley Woodward, Belle Puri, Erica Johnson – CBC Radio – Reality Check

Best News Reporting of the Year - Television
Kathy Tomlinson and Gloria Macarenko
CBC Television
BC Bud
  • Lisa Rossington – CTV British Columbia – The Heather Thomas Story
  • Kathy Tomlinson – CBC Television – Death Sentence?

Best Feature Story - Print
Frances Bula
The Vancouver Sun
Premier in Waiting
  • Stephen Hume, Glenn Baglo, Roger Watanabe, Chris Rose – Vancouver Sun – The Fraser River: BC's Soul
  • Vancouver Sun Team – Vancouver Sun – Fix

Best Feature Story - Radio
Shannon Gunning
Mourning Moms
  • Bob Keating, Sandra Bartlett – CBC Radio – The Rumour Mill
  • Jeff Weaver – CBC Radio – Back to the Farm

Best Feature Story - Television
George Orr, Ross Howard
CBC British Columbia
Against the Current
  • Tara Nelson – BCTV – Stop the Bullying
  • Belle Puri – CBC Television – The Life of Union Jack

Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
Endowed by Jean Cormier
Gordon Hamilton
Vancouver Sun
  • Anne Mullens – BC Business Magazine – Shortchanged?
  • Chris Nuttall-Smith – The Vancouver Sun – BC Hydro Stories

Best Reporting - Chinese Language
Endora Fan
Fairchild Television, Magazine 26
Schoolyard Bullying
  • Ming Pao News Team – Ming Pao Daily News – Federal Election
  • Karen So – Fairchild Television, Magazine 26 – Knowing Nisga

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting
Trudy Beyak
The Abbotsford News
Power Struggle
  • Kevin Diakiw – The Surrey/North Delta Leader – Money for Meth
  • Denese Izzard – The Gabriola Sounder – Cheryle Foley: Gifted, Courageous & Gay

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
Salim Jiwa
The Province
Border Bomb
  • Catherine Pope – BCTV – Erasing the Past
  • Ken MacQueen – Vancouver Sun – The Law and the Landlord from Hell

Jack Webster Science & Technology Award
Supported by Barry Lando
Karen Gram
Vancouver Sun
Is the Mozart Effect for Real?
  • Harvey Oberfeld – BCTV – Recycling in BC
  • Cathy Simon, Joan Webber – CBC Radio – TODRADIO.COM : keyword: Shopping?

Jack Webster Award for Commentary
Stephen Hume
The Vancouver Sun
  • Robert Koopmans – Kamloops Daily News
  • Douglas Todd – The Vancouver Sun

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award
Patrick Nagle

back to top
Follow us on Twitter @JackWebsterFdn

Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Videos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Good Award