jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2020 Jack Webster Awards:

The 2003 Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos by Dave Thomson

Jack Webster Awards winners group photo
2003 Jack Webster Awards winners
(click on the image to enlarge)

Best News Reporting of the Year - Print
  • Stuart Hunter, Matt Hoekstra, Lora Grindlay, Charlie Anderson, John Colebourn, Salim Jiwa – The Province – Tragedy at Sea
  • Louise Dickson, Judith Lavoie, Les Leyne, Jody Paterson, Jeff Rud – Times Colonist – Campbell's Crisis

Best News Reporting of the Year - Radio
  • Ted Field, Yvonne Eamor, Leanne Yuzwa – CKNW – New West Barge
  • Pamela Post – CBC Radio News – Desperate for a Kidney: Canada Fuels Global Trade in Human Organs

Best News Reporting of the Year - Television
  • Linda Aylesworth, Brian Coxford, Ted Chernecki, Aaron McArthur, Randene Neil – Global Television – Revelstoke Avalanche
  • Ted Chernecki, John Daly, Aaron McArthur – Global Television – New Westminster Barge

Best Feature Story - Print
  • Don Cayo – The Vancouver Sun – One Island, Two Worlds - Life on the Line
  • Kim Westad – Times Colonist – Rocancourt

Best Feature Story - Radio
  • Robyn Levy and Anne Penman – CBC Radio – Teen Dads on Father's Day
  • Jeff Davies – CBC Radio – BC Parks at the Crossroads

Best Feature Story - Television
  • Natalie Clancy – CBC News – Green Gold
  • Mike McCardell – Global Television – New York Stories

Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
Endowed by Jean Cormier
  • Petti Fong – The Vancouver Sun – Drought
  • Charlie Smith – Georgia Straight – Olympics Inc.

Best Reporting - Chinese Language
  • AM1320 News Team – CHMB AM1320 – Civic Election 2002
  • Vincent Wu – World Journal – Canada's New Immigration Law: A Chinese Community Perspective

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting
  • Trudy Beyak – Abbotsford News – Dad Says it was a Preventable Death
  • Catherine Litt, John Kimantas, Chris Bush – Nanaimo News Bulletin – Picture of Poverty

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
  • Michael McCullough – The Vancouver Sun – New Laws to Keep Your Private Life Private
  • Adrienne Tanner – The Province – Police Conduct

Jack Webster Science & Technology Award
Supported by Barry Lando
  • Ben Parfitt – The Georgia Straight – Fish and the Forest
  • Kelly Ryan, Sandra Bartlett – CBC Radio – The Science of the Search

Commentator of the Year

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award
Rafe Mair

back to top
Follow us on Twitter @JackWebsterFdn

Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Videos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Good Award