jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2020 Jack Webster Awards:

The 2004 Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos by Dave Thomson

Jack Webster Awards winners group photo
2004 Jack Webster Awards winners
(click on the image to enlarge)

Best News Reporting of the Year - Print
  • Lindsay Kines – The Vancouver Sun – Teamster's Ties to Bikers Probed
  • Douglas Todd – The Vancouver Sun – Catholics Sever Ties with VanCity for Supporting Gays

Best News Reporting of the Year - Radio
  • Doug Collins, Sandy Heimlich-Hall, Raffelina Sirriani, Cheryl Bloxham, Lorry-Ann Austin, Teena Monteleone, Larry Read – B-100 (CKBZ) – Firestorm
  • Chris Brown, David French, Steve Lus, Graham Stevens, Gary Symons, Michael Tymchuk, Myke Clark – CBC Radio News – Summer of Fire

Best News Reporting of the Year - Television
  • Leigh Morrow – CityTV – Charles Jamieson
  • Bill O''Donovan, Sandy Heimlich-Hall, Raffelina Sirianni, Cheryl Bloxham, Lorry-Ann Austin, Teena Monteleone, Kent Simmonds, Tom Konopski, Clayton Smailes, Cory Blum – CFJC-TV7 News Centre, Kamloops – Firestorm

Best Feature Story - Print
  • Mike Beamish – The Vancouver Sun – To Love and Lose and Live to Find Love Again
  • Gail Johnson – The Georgia Straight – The Dark Crystal

Best Feature Story - Radio
  • Kathryn Gretsinger, David Jones, Marcie Gray, Phillip Ditchburn – CBC Radio One – Aids: Then and Now
  • Karen Burgess, Jennifer Van Evra, Andrea Lupini, Margaret Gallagher, Cecilia Walters – CBC Radio One – Taking Care

Best Feature Story - Television
  • Brian Dutkewich, Jane King, Liz Robbins, Erick Thompson, Polly Vaughan – The New VI - CHUM Television – Crystal Meth...To Die For
  • Keri Adams, Michele Brunoro, Rob Brown – CTV British Columbia – Mission Murder

Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
Endowed by Jean Cormier
  • Scott Simpson – The Vancouver Sun – BC Rail
  • Nicole Lawson, Tracy Tjaden, Glenn Drexhage, Glen Korstrom, Peter Mitham, Timothy Renshaw – Business in Vancouver – BC's Biggest Deals of 2003

Best Reporting - Chinese Language
  • Talentvision Team – Talentvision – Taiwan Presidential Election
  • Deborah Zhao, Kathy Lee, Mark Huang, Bo Zhang – Global Chinese Press – The True Story of the Xinjiang Acrobats

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting
  • Thomas Terrio – Richmond Review – Drive-by Tickets in the Mail
  • Chris Tenove – www.TheTyee.ca – Dispatches from around the Province

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
  • Chris Brown and James Roberts – CBC News: Canada Now/The National – Century of Slag
  • Salim Jiwa – The Province – Caught on Video - Burns/Rafay Trial

Jack Webster Award for Science & Technology
Supported by Barry Lando
  • Paula Brook – The Vancouver Sun – High Tech Hip
  • Margaret Munro – CanWest News – Drugs, Money and Ethics

City Mike Award (Commentator of the Year)

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

back to top
Follow us on Twitter @JackWebsterFdn

Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Videos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Good Award