jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2020 Jack Webster Awards:

The 2005 Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos by Dave Thomson

Jack Webster Awards winners group photo
2005 Jack Webster Awards winners
(click on the image to enlarge)

Best News Reporting of the Year - Print
  • Amy O'Brian – The Vancouver Sun – Surrey Memorial Hospital
  • Lindsay Kines, Les Leyne, Louise Dickson Jeff Rudd – Victoria Times Colonist – Child Deaths

Best News Reporting of the Year - Radio
  • Lesley Pritchard – CBC Radio – Critical Condition - E.R.s in the Fraser Region
  • Peter Armstrong, Paisley Woodward, Carolyn Jack, Rosa Marchitelli, Dana Bales, Stephen Lus, Vik Adhopia – CBC Radio News – Mystery in Chechnya

Best News Reporting of the Year - Television
  • Rumina Daya – BCTV News on Global – Sri Lanka
  • Leigh Morrow – Citytv Vancouver – Welfare Rental Slumlord

Best Feature Story - Print
  • Tom Hawthorn – Western Living – Wave Goodbye
  • Jack Knox, Debra Brash – Victoria Times Colonist – The Last Man on Earth to Speak Nuchatlaht

Best Feature Story - Radio
  • Eileen Power – CBC Radio – Katie's Story
  • Yvonne Gall, Marie Clements – CBC Radio – Hours of Water

Best Feature Story - Television
  • Terry Milewski – CBC News – Ray of Light
  • Leigh Morrow – Citytv Vancouver – Pandemic Countdown

Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
Endowed by Jean Cormier
  • Ben Parfitt – The Georgia Straight – Killing Fields
  • Frank O'Brien – BC Business Magazine – The Hundred Million Dollar Spread

Best Reporting - Chinese Language
  • Ada Luk – Fairchild TV – One Woman Fight
  • Tony Liaw – CHMB AM1320 – Aftermath of 911

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting
  • Russ Francis – Monday Magazine – High Hazards at Care Homes
  • Noel Hulsman – BC Business Magazine – The Outsider

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
  • Jennifer Hourihan – Cowichan Valley News Leader – Evelyn Marten Trial
  • Dana Bales – CBC Radio – Security for Sale

Jack Webster Award for Science & Technology
Supported by Barry Lando
  • Dee Hon – The Tyee – Attention Deficit Disorder: A Personal Investigation; My ADD: Curse or Gift?
  • David Wiwchar, Michael Tymchuk – CBC Radio – The Bad Blood Returns, Nuu-chah-nulth Blood Returns to West Coast Ha-Shilth-Sa Newspaper

City Mike Award (Commentator of the Year)

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

back to top
Follow us on Twitter @JackWebsterFdn

Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Videos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Good Award