jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2020 Jack Webster Awards:

The 2006 Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos by Dave Thomson

Jack Webster Awards winners group photo
2006 Jack Webster Awards winners
(click on the image to enlarge)

Best News Reporting of the Year - Print
  • Lori Culbert and Miro Cernetig – The Vancouver Sun – Savannah: BC's Child Protection System
  • Jeff Rud and Lindsay Kines – Victoria Times Colonist – Sherry Charlie and the State of B.C.'s Child Welfare System

Best News Reporting of the Year - Radio
  • Mark Forsythe, Susan McNamee, Priya Ramu, Steve Lus, Cecilia Walters, Brian Dance, Karen Burgess, Bernice Chan, Doug Cheng, Miyoung Lee – CBC Radio One – Queen of Oak Bay Crash
  • Gary Symons – CBC Radio – Gone to Hell - How the Biker Gangs Took Canada

Best News Reporting of the Year - Television
  • Natalie Clancy, Belle Puri, Terry Milewski, Justine Hunter, Melanie Nagy, Deborah Goble, Darrow MacIntyre – CBC News - Canada Now – Queen of the North
  • Kathy Tomlinson, Todd Battis – CTV National News – The Zeisman Case

Best Feature Story - Print
  • Peter Clough, David Carrigg, Susan Lazaruk, Jonathan McDonald, Ginger Sedlarova, Jon Murray, Ric Ernst – The Province – Stolen Lives: An In Depth Look at the Dangerous World of Auto Crime
  • Gary Mason – The Globe and Mail – Sudden Death

Best Feature Story - Radio
  • Betsy Trumpener – Daybreak North, CBC Radio – Mothers' Milk
  • Tim Mah, Yvonne Gall – CBC Radio – Face the Music and Dance

Best Feature Story - Television
  • David Kincaid – CTV BC – Katrina Heroes
  • Duncan McCue, James Roberts – CBC News Canada Now – Requiem for David

Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
Endowed by Jean Cormier
  • Carla Wilson – The Victoria Times Colonist – Sea Change
  • Ross Howard – BC Business Magazine – Living on Borrowed Power

Best Reporting - Chinese Language
  • Fairchild TV News Team – Fairchild TV – Shattered Dream - One Man's Disastrous Experience in Investing in China
  • Karen So, Michael Tam, Rachman Lai, Ricky Tong – channel m Television – BC Hydro

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting
  • Michele Young – Kamloops Daily News – Glass Half Empty
  • Trudy Beyak – Abbotsford News – What Every Mom and Dad Should Know - Pedophile's Pattern of Deception

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
  • Fabian Dawson, Andy Ivens, Christina Montgomery – The Province – Jury System Flawed
  • Peter McKnight – The Vancouver Sun – The Myth of Getting Tough on Gun Crime

Jack Webster Award for Science & Technology
  • Frances Bula – The Vancouver Sun – A Convention of Sea Life
  • Deborah Wilson – CBC Radio-Victoria – Failure Pattern

City Mike Award (Commentator of the Year)
Presented in memory of Linda Webster

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

back to top
Follow us on Twitter @JackWebsterFdn

Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Videos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Good Award