jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2020 Jack Webster Awards:

The 2007 Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos by Dave Thomson

Jack Webster Awards winners group photo
2007 Jack Webster Awards winners
(click on the image to enlarge)

Best News Reporting of the Year - Print
  • Lori Culbert, Neal Hall and Janet Steffenhagen – The Vancouver Sun – Former Teacher Faces Sex Charges
  • Kim Bolan – The Vancouver Sun – The Murder of Manjit Panghali

Best News Reporting of the Year - Radio
  • Mark Forsythe, Susan McNamee, Theresa Duvall, Brett Ballah, Renee Filippone, Marcie Gray and Betsy Trumpener – CBC Radio – BC Place Dome Collapse
  • Meera Bains, Jeff Davies and Paisley Woodward – CBC Radio – Fraser Valley Van Crash: The Safety of BC's Farmworkers

Best News Reporting of the Year - Television
Presented in memory of Keith Bradbury
  • Elaine Yong – Global BC – Home Inspector Series
  • Tony Parsons, Randene Neill, John Daly, Ted Chernecki, Chris Gailus, Anne Drewa, Rob Bencze, Ted Field, Keith Baldrey and Grace Ke – Global BC – Storm Coverage

Best Feature Story - Print
  • Gerry Bellett – The Vancouver Sun – Death by Graduation
  • Jonathan McDonald, Peter Clough, Cristina Montgomery, Matthew Ramsey and Ginger Sedlarova – The Province – Under the Gun

Best Feature Story - Radio
  • Curt Petrovich and Yvonne Gall – CBC Radio – Children of the Missing Women
  • Yvonne Gall, Salma Nurmohamed, Duncan McCue, Kathryn Gretsinger, Pamela Post and Margaret Gallagher – CBC Radio – Sacred Spaces

Best Feature Story - Television
  • Mike McCardell – Global BC – East Hastings Series
  • Duncan McCue, James Roberts and Sara Darling – CBC News – Reading, Writing and the Rez

Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
Endowed by Jean Cormier
  • Don Cayo and Doug Todd – The Vancouver Sun – Deconstructing Taxes
  • Shannon Paterson, Jim Beatty, Dag Sharman and Peter Grainger – CTV British Columbia – Riverbend

Best Reporting - Chinese Language
  • Ada Luk and Fairchild Current Affairs Team – Fairchild TV – Ah Han's Story - How Asian Inmates are Changing Correction Canada's Services
  • Tony Liaw – CHMB AM1320 – Dual Citizenship

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting
  • Kendyl Salcito and Tom Barrett – The Tyee – BC's New War over Private Property Rights
  • Derek Spalding and Allison Cross – Nanaimo Daily News – Designing Babies

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
  • Robert Koopmans – Kamloops Daily News – Court Notes
  • Lisa Rossington, Janet Dirks, Keri Adams, Kate Corcoran and Brent Gilbert – CTV British Columbia – The Pickton Trial

Jack Webster Award for Science & Technology
  • Scott Simpson – The Vancouver Sun – Climate Change
  • Ed Watson, Julie Nolin, Dana Hutchings, Jennifer Crosby and Mary Griffin – CH Vancouver Island – Climate Change

City Mike Award (Commentator of the Year)
Presented in memory of Linda Webster

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

back to top
Follow us on Twitter @JackWebsterFdn

Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Videos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Good Award