jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2020 Jack Webster Awards:

The 2008 Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos by Dave Thomson

Jack Webster Awards winners group photo
2008 Jack Webster Awards winners
(click on the image to enlarge)

Best News Reporting of the Year - Print
  • Lori Culbert, Chad Skelton and Larry Pynn – The Vancouver Sun – John Les and Chilliwack Land Deals
  • Elaine O'Connor – The Province – The Blair Wilson Files

Best News Reporting of the Year - Radio
  • Terri Theodore – The Canadian Press – Children Killed
  • Laura Palmer, Kelly Connors, Terry Donnelly – CBC Radio Vancouver – The Robert Dziekanski Story

Best News Reporting of the Year - Television
Presented in memory of Keith Bradbury
  • Eric Rankin, Paisley Woodward, Curt Petrovich, Robert Zimmerman – CBC News Vancouver – Dirty Dollars
  • Eric Rankin, Melanie Nagy, Miyoung Lee, Kirk Williams – CBC News Vancouver – Taser Controversy

Best Feature Story - Print
  • Pamela Fayerman – The Vancouver Sun – Locked-In/Stroke
  • Glenda Luymes, Lena Sin – The Province – Thugs: B.C.'s Growing Menace

Best Feature Story - Radio
  • Erica Johnson – CBC Radio – Baby Rescue
  • Jason Proctor – CBC Radio – Talk of the Devil

Best Feature Story - Television
Rumina Daya
Global BC
Sex Tourism
  • Duncan McCue, James Roberts, Michael Taylor-Noonan, Glenn Weston, Doug Trent Jim Hoffman – CBC News – Abuse of Authority
  • Elaine Yong – Global BC – World Class B.C.

Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
Endowed by Jean Cormier
Gary Mason
The Globe and Mail
Prince Rupert; New Hope
  • Lena Sin – The Province – Priced Out
  • Patrick Brown – Island Tides – Sub-prime fraud made simple; Deconstructing Tilma; Carbon tax vs. cap-&-trade; Oil prices-betting on the only sure thing

Best Reporting - Chinese Language
  • Ming Pao Reporting Team (Eric Chan, Augustine Siu, Austin Feng, CK Chau, Jeffrey Wang, Mansang Leung, Susanna Ng, Victoria Chang, Tony Au, Liang Feng) – Ming Pao Daily – Downtown Plane Crash

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting
  • Gordon Hoekstra – Prince George Citizen – Clearing the Air
  • Mona Mattei – The Weekender – Fallout - Battle over Uranium Claim

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
  • Peter McKnight – The Vancouver Sun – Series of columns on legal issues
  • Kim Bolan – The Vancouver Sun – Serious flaws in terrorist financing laws and witness protection program

Jack Webster Award for Science & Technology
  • Gordon Hamilton, Frank Myrskog, Scott Simpson – The Vancouver Sun – B.C. 2050: What Climate Change Will Do To Our Province
  • Lisa Smedman – Vancouver Courier – Tapping Into the Future and Pipe Dreams

City Mike Award (Commentator of the Year)
Presented in memory of Linda Webster

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

back to top
Follow us on Twitter @JackWebsterFdn

Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Videos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Good Award