jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2019 Jack Webster Awards:

The 2010 Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos by Dave Thomson

Jack Webster Awards winners group photo
2010 Jack Webster Awards winners
(click on the image to enlarge)

Best News Reporting of the Year - Print
  • Shelley Fralic – The Vancouver Sun – The Torch Travels North
  • Jeff Lee, Terry Bell, Jason Botchford, Gillian Shaw, Mike Beamish, Daphne Bramham, Iain MacIntyre, Cam Cole – The Vancouver Sun – A Tragic Day in Whistler

Best News Reporting of the Year - Radio
  • Curt Petrovich – CBC National Radio News – The Braidwood Inquiry
  • Kathy Tomlinson – CBC Radio BC - The Early Edition – Home Depot Tax

Best News Reporting of the Year - Television
Presented in memory of Keith Bradbury
  • John L. Daly – Global B.C. – Fraudulent Vehicle Certifications
  • CBC News Team – CBC News – The Games

Best Feature Story - Print
  • Jeff Lee – The Vancouver Sun – The Fight Against Doping
  • Naoibh O'Connor – The Vancouver Courier – Private Lessons

Best Feature Story - Radio
  • Jeff Davies – CBC Radio British Columbia – The Lieutenant Governor Carves a Canoe
  • Betsy Trumpener – CBC Radio – The Paralympics

Best Feature Story - Television
  • Stephen Andrew and Brendan Strain – /A\ Vancouver Island – Langford Goes to Haiti
  • Erica Johnson – CBC Marketplace – Road to Rich Dad

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Online Journalism
  • Elaine O'Connor – The Province – BC Without Borders Project
  • CBC News Team – CBC – Road to the Games

Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
Sponsored by Jean Cormier
  • Andrew Duffy – Victoria Times Colonist – Meet the HST
  • Larry Pynn – The Vancouver Sun – Pint-sized Ripoff

Best Reporting - Chinese Language
  • Andy Cheung, Aiken Lau, Edward Chun, David Shum, Tony Liaw, Peggy Wong – CHMB AM 1320 – HST Special
  • James Fung, Victor Ho, Albert Tsui – Sing Tao Daily – Yi Fao - Tracing the Roots of Chinese Immigrants in New Westminster

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting
  • Tim Petruk – Kamloops This Week – East Side Stories
  • Raffelina Sirianni, Kent Simmonds, Kylie Stanton, Curtis Allen, Geoff Hastings, Sandy Heimlich-Hall – CFJC TV Kamloops – Dirty Surgical Tools

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
  • Kim Bolan, Lori Culbert, Neal Hall, Darah Hansen – The Vancouver Sun – Gang Wars: Justice in Our Times
  • Hayley Cooper – CHNL Radio – The Allan Schoenborn Murder Trial

Jack Webster Award for Science, Technology, Health & Environment
  • Pamela Fayerman, Amy O'Brian, Jenny Lee, Darah Hansen – The Vancouver Sun – Breast Cancer
  • Duncan McCue, Doug Trent, and Michelle Billman – CBC - The National – Finding Coral
  • Margaret Munro – CanWest News – Diabetes: Our Growing Epidemic

City Mike Award (Commentator of the Year)
Presented in memory of Linda Webster

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award
Jim Taylor
winner photo   winner video

back to top
Follow us on Twitter @JackWebsterFdn

Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Videos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Good Award

Purchase your tickets:
Click here
Reserve your tickets by calling 604-603-4218 or email info@