jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2020 Jack Webster Awards:

The 2011 Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos by Dave Thomson

Best News Reporting of the Year - Print
  • Katie DeRosa, Lindsay Kines, Jack Knox, Judith Lavoie, Les Leyne, Rob Shaw – Victoria Times Colonist – Robert Pickton and BC's Patchwork Policing
  • Sandra Thomas – Vancouver Courier – Series on Steeves Manor

Best News Reporting of the Year - Radio
  • News Team – News1130 – BC NDP Leadership Vote
  • Kim Seale – News1130 – Double Plane Crash

Best News Reporting of the Year - Television
Presented in memory of Keith Bradbury
  • Rumina Daya, Ted Chernecki and News Team – Global BC – Miracle in Nevada
  • Eric Rankin, Lisa Johnson, Paisley Woodward – CBC News Vancouver – Mystery Money

Best Feature Story - Print
  • Ian Bailey – The Globe and Mail – One Big Idea series
  • Denise Ryan – The Vancouver Sun – Very Few Men The Same As They Were Before

Best Feature Story - Radio
  • Dan Burritt – News1130 – Chuck Davis Tribute
  • Pamela Post – CBC Radio – The Incredible Shrinking Man

Best Feature Story - Television
  • Linda Aylesworth, Sergio Magro, Darren Twiss – Global BC – Beyond Fair Trade: How Coffee Raised a Village
  • Kelvin Redvers – CTV BC - First Story – Death of a Carver

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Multimedia Journalism
  • Cale Cowan, Philip Wolf, Walter Cordery, Shari Cummins, Chris Koehn, Derek Spalding, Paul Walton – Nanaimo Daily News – Nanaimo Daily News Live Election Debates
  • News Team – VancouverSun.com – Japan Earthquake and Tsunami Coverage

Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
Sponsored by Jean Cormier
  • David Baines – The Vancouver Sun – Ontario Promoter Ruins Burnaby Woman
  • Daniel Wood – The Georgia Straight – Ye Olde Liquor Rules Still Sting

Best Reporting - Chinese Language
  • Audrea Chan, Chung En Lee – Magazine 26 Fairchild TV – The Forgotten Horizon
  • Audrea Chan – Magazine 26 Fairchild TV – Rethink Asia

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting
  • Jesse Ferreras – Pique Newsmagazine – Whistler Blackcomb Goes Public
  • Jon Steinman – Kootenay Co-op Radio CJLY – Local Food Fraud? An Investigation

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
  • Louise Dickson – Times Colonist – Crisis in BC Courts
  • Roberta Staley – The Georgia Straight – Crime and Injustice

Jack Webster Award for Science, Technology, Health & Environment
  • Randy Shore, Tiffany Crawford, Andrea Woo, Peter McKnight, Craig McInnes, Stephen Hume, Harvey Enchin, John Mackie, Mia Stainsby, Christina Frangou, Pamela Fayerman – The Vancouver Sun – Sugar Rush
  • Scott Simpson – The Vancouver Sun – MDA Eyes New Frontier in Space

City Mike Award (Commentator of the Year)
Presented in memory of Linda Webster

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

back to top
Follow us on Twitter @JackWebsterFdn

Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Videos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Good Award