jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2020 Jack Webster Awards:

The 2012 Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos by Dave Thomson

Best News Reporting of the Year - Print
  • Tamsyn Burgmann, Keven Drews, Terri Theodore, Jonathan Hayward – The Canadian Press – Sawmill Explosion
  • Cindy E. Harnett, Rob Shaw – Victoria Times Colonist – VIHA's Secret Job

Best News Reporting of the Year - Radio
  • Wil Fundal – CBC Radio – Burns Lake Disaster
  • Janet Brown – CKNW Radio – Putting the Bite Back into Transit Tickets

Best News Reporting of the Year - Television
Presented in memory of Keith Bradbury
  • Catherine Pope – Global BC – CLBC Chasing the Cuts
  • Eric Rankin, Paisley Woodward – CBC – Paul Boyd Shooting Re-Opened

Best Feature Story - Print
  • Justine Hunter, John Lehmann – The Globe and Mail – All in the Same Boat
  • Frances Bula – Vancouver Magazine – How I Lost My Mother

Best Feature Story - Radio
  • Pamela Post – CBC Radio - The Sunday Edition – Buried So Deep
  • Sara Darling, Sterling Eyford, Peter Hutchinson – CBC Radio Victoria – Goodbye Big Blue

Best Feature Story - Television
  • Kelvin Redvers – CTV BC - First Story – Broken Homes
  • Ian Hanomansing, James Roberts, Michelle Billman, Brett Hyde – CBC News – The National: Rioting and Redemption

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Multimedia Journalism
  • Devon Goodsell, Tracey Robertson, Renee Filippone, Gloria Leung, Geoffrey Turner; Joel McKay, Richard Chu – CBC News Vancouver/Business in Vancouver – The Grey Area: The Business of Seniors' Care
  • Chad Skelton, Douglas Todd – The Vancouver Sun – Metro Vancouver Mapped

Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
Endowed by Jean Cormier
  • Larry Pynn – The Vancouver Sun – In the Wake of a Plague
  • Jeremy Allingham – CBC Radio One – Laying it on the Line: The Northern Gateway Pipeline

Best Reporting - Chinese Language
  • Debbie Chen, Gao Shang – Fairchild Radio – The Marijuana Controversy
  • Sing Tao (Vancouver) Reporting Team: James Fung, Sunny Chiu – Sing Tao Daily – Special Feature on the 100th Anniversary of China Revolution: Tracing the Footsteps of Dr. Sun Yat-sen in BC

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting
  • Tyler Olsen – This Magazine – Not Wanted
  • Mel Rothenburger, Cam Fortems, Robert Koopmans, Michele Young, Jason Hewlett, Mike Youds, Tracy Gilchrist, Mike Cornell – The Kamloops Daily News – The Ajax File: All that Glitters

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
  • Natalie Clancy, Paisley Woodward – CBC – Hate Crimes
  • Rob Wipond – Focus Magazine – Kathleen's Demise

Jack Webster Award for Science, Technology, Health & Environment
  • Rob Wipond – Focus Magazine – Crisis Behind Closed Doors
  • Duncan McCue, Jodie Martinson – CBC Radio One, Spark – Aboriginal Futures

City Mike Award (Commentator of the Year)
Presented in memory of Linda Webster

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award
Patricia Graham
winner photo   winner video

back to top
Follow us on Twitter @JackWebsterFdn

Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Videos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Good Award