jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2020 Jack Webster Awards:

The 2013 Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos by Dave Thomson

Best News Reporting of the Year - Print
  • Dene Moore – The Canadian Press – Enbridge Northern Gateway
  • Gordon McIntyre – The Province – Stink Raised over Legal Grow-ops

Best News Reporting of the Year - Radio
  • Marcella Bernardo – CKNW News Talk 980 – Epic Failure
  • Rick Cluff, Shiral Tobin, Chris Brown, Elaine Chau, Jodie Martinson, Margaret Gallagher – CBC Radio One, The Early Edition – Pidgin Protests

Best News Reporting of the Year - Television
Presented in memory of Keith Bradbury
  • Kathy Tomlinson, Mike Clarke – CBC News Vancouver – Budget Rent A Car Rip-off
  • Brian Coxford, Karl Casselman, Monty Burt – Global BC – Recovery House

Best Feature Story - Print
  • Ros Guggi, John Fuller, J.J. Adams, Erik Rolfsen, Cheryl Chan, Sam Cooper, Elaine O'Connor, Ethan Baron, Arlen Redekop, Jason Payne, Les Bazso, Jenelle Schneider, Dharm Makwana, Rafe Arnott – The Province – Heartbeat: Inside St. Paul's Hospital
  • Lori Culbert – The Vancouver Sun – The Agony of Ecstasy

Best Feature Story - Radio
  • Theresa O'Leary, Yvonne Gall – CBC Radio – Mothers & Sons: Restorative Justice
  • Jodie Martinson, Joan Webber – CBC Radio One, The Current – To Have & to Hold: Evelyn Amony's Story

Best Feature Story - Television
  • Therese Champagne – Radio-Canada Television – My Culture of Rice
  • Kent Simmonds, James Peters – CFJC-TV Kamloops – Scott Casey, In the Devil's Courthouse
  • Scott Roberts – CTV British Columbia – The Spill

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Digital Journalism
  • Devon Goodsell, Jonathan Derouchie, Kali Smith, Stephen Smart, Dan Burritt, Renee Filippone, Mike Laanela, Jennifer Sheppard, Rhiannon Coppin – CBC News Vancouver – B.C. Votes 2013
  • Bruce Claggett, Denise Wong – News 1130 Radio – Twitter Townhall

Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
Endowed by Jean Cormier
  • Bob Mackin, Jon McComb, Greg Schott – CKNW AM 980 – A Look at Port Metro Vancouver
  • Daniel Wood – The Georgia Straight – Delta Projects Threaten Farms and Wildlife

Best Reporting - Chinese Language
  • Richard Li, James Fung, David Jang – Sing Tao Daily – A Chinese Miners' Controversy Stirs BC
  • Debbie Chen, Shang Gao, Diana Cui – Fairchild Radio FM96.1 – More Immigrants More Challenge

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting
  • Catherine Litt, Michele Young – Kamloops Daily News – A Duty to Remember
  • Tyler Olsen – Chilliwack Times – Living in a Death Trap

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
Peter McKnight
The Vancouver Sun
  winner video
  • Kim Bolan – The Vancouver Sun – Inside the Angels
  • Rob Wipond – Focus Magazine – The Case for Electroshocking Mia

Jack Webster Award for Science, Technology, Health & Environment
  • Cam Fortems, Michele Young – Kamloops Daily News – Condition Critical
  • Duncan McCue, James Roberts, Doug Trent, Michelle Billman, Mark Gryski – CBC News - The National – MOOC

City Mike Award (Commentator of the Year)
Presented in memory of Linda Webster

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

back to top
Follow us on Twitter @JackWebsterFdn

Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Videos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Good Award