jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2020 Jack Webster Awards:

The 2015 Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos by Dave Thomson

Best News Reporting of the Year - Print
  • Justine Hunter, Mike Hager, Stanley Tromp, Gary Mason, Sunny Dhillon – The Globe and Mail – Oil Spill
  • Matt Kieltyka, Emily Jackson, Luke Simcoe – Metro – Young Vancouverites Fleeing to More Affordable Pastures

Best News Reporting of the Year - Radio
  • Shiral Tobin, Rick Cluff – The Early Edition, CBC Radio One Vancouver – (dis)integration)
  • Natalie Clancy – CBC Vancouver News – RCMP Blamed for Mountie's Suicide

Best News Reporting of the Year - Television
Presented in memory of Keith Bradbury
  • Scott Roberts, Melanie Nagy, Jon Woodward – CTV Vancouver – Dairy Farm Abuse
  • Jamie Forsythe, John L. Daly, Jas Johal, Rumina Daya, Geoff Hastings, Karl Avefjall, Simon Boniface, Chris Allard, Tony Clark, Gary Asuncion – Global BC – Mount Polley Mine Disaster

Best Feature Story - Print
  • Stephen Hume – The Vancouver Sun – British Columbia and The Great War
  • Kim Bolan – The Vancouver Sun – Crime & the Waterfront

Best Feature Story - Radio
  • Willow Yamauchi, Joan Webber – CBC Radio's The Current – Deaf Jam
  • Francesca Lucia – Radio NL – Under the Skin

Best Feature Story - Television
  • Elaine Yong, Simon Boniface, Paul Rowand, Kristin Robinson, Kevin Church, Jennifer Palma, Luca Sgaetti – Global BC – Kyle McConkey
  • Francis Plourde, Pierre Beaudoin, Daniel Beauparlant – Second Regard, Radio-Canada – The Death of the United Church

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Digital Journalism
  • Tracy Sherlock, Chad Skelton – The Vancouver Sun – Education Data Series
  • Anne Penman, Kali Smith, Liam Britten – CBC British Columbia – Faces of BC

Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
Endowed by Jean Cormier
  • Rob Shaw, Roger Watanabe – The Vancouver Sun – The Budget Family
  • Chris Brown, James Roberts, Brian Dutkewich – CBC: The National – The Sharing Economy

Best Reporting - Chinese Language
  • Debbie Chen, Johann Chang and Travena Lee – Fairchild Radio – Gangs in Surrey and Delta
  • Spencer Gall – Fairchild Television – Magazine 26 Remembering The Heroes

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting
  • David P. Ball – The Tyee – Status: Inside Vancouver's Sanctuary Movement
  • Erin Haluschak – Comox Valley Record – l'tustolagalis - Rising Up, Together

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
  • Nelson Bennett – Business in Vancouver – Anti-spam Laws Change Canada's Marketing Landscape
  • Tracy Sherlock – The Vancouver Sun – Teachers' Court Battle

Jack Webster Award for Science, Technology, Health & Environment
Sponsored by Genome British Columbia
  • Chris Brown, Chris Corday, Brian Dutkewich, Simon Charland-Faucher – CBC The National – BC's War on the Wolf
  • Daniel Wood – The Georgia Straight – Can Grizzly Watchers End the Trophy Hunt?

City Mike Award (Commentator of the Year)
Presented in memory of Linda Webster

Bill Good Award

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

back to top
Follow us on Twitter @JackWebsterFdn

Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Videos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Good Award