jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2020 Jack Webster Awards:

The 2016 Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos by Dave Thomson

Best News Reporting of the Year - Print
  • Laura Kane – The Canadian Press – Campus Sex Assaults
  • Sarah Petrescu, Carla Wilson, Katherine Dedyna, Bill Cleverley, Louise Dickson, Richard Watts, Lindsay Kines, Jeff Bell, Les Leyne, Jack Knox, Cindy E. Harnett, Bruce Stotesbury and Darren Stone – Times Colonist – Victoria's Tent City

Best News Reporting of the Year - Radio
  • Megan Thomas – CBC Radio News – Tragedy off Tofino
  • Wil Fundal, Stephanie Mercier, Robert Doane, Chris Corday – CBC/Radio-Canada – When Mountains Move

Best News Reporting of the Year - Television
Presented in memory of Keith Bradbury
  • Eric Rankin, Yvette Brend – CBC Vancouver News – Metis Adoption
  • Belle Puri, Chris Brown, Chris Corday, Dan Burritt, Eric Rankin, Glen Kugelstadt, Johanna Wagstaffe, Mike McArthur, Richard Zussman, Susana da Silva, Paisley Woodward – CBC Vancouver News – Tofino Leviathan II sinking

Best Feature Story - Print
  • Justine Hunter – The Globe and Mail – Greenpeace, a history
  • Jane Seyd – North Shore News – The New Gold Rush

Best Feature Story - Radio
  • Jean Paetkau, Robyn Burns, Kirstie Hudson – CBC Radio Victoria – A Loss of Innocence
  • Elaine Chau, Manusha Janakiram, Lee Rosevere – CBC Radio One – Wui Gwai: Hong Kong Homecoming

Best Feature Story - Television
  • Adam Sawatsky, Brendan Strain – CTV News Vancouver Island – Bus Boy
  • Sonia Deol, Tony Clark, Ted Anhorn – Global News – Remembering Maple Batalia

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Digital Journalism
  • Alison Broddle, Tamara Baluja, Catherine Rolfsen, Bal Brach and the CBC.ca/BC web team – CBC News – Finding Refuge: Meet some of the Syrian Refugees
  • Jon Woodward, Kendra Mangione – CTV Vancouver – Where the kids are

Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
Endowed by Jean Cormier
  • Travis Lupick – The Georgia Straight – Confidential documents reveal B.C.'s new minimum wage was one big mistake
  • Jeremy Allingham – CBC Radio / cbc.ca – Hopped Up: Competition, challenges and change in B.C.'s craft beer industry

Best Reporting - Chinese Language
  • Jose Ng, Kelvin Chung, Aiken Lau, Edward Liu, Andy Cheung, Edward Chun, Luna Tsoi – CHMB AM1320 – Home Affordability
  • Spencer Gall – Fairchild Television Magazine 26 – How Can I Let Go?

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting
  • Don Descoteau, Dan Ebenal, Pamela Roth, Arnold Lim, Don Denton, Lily Chan – Goldstream News Gazette – Sewage in the CRD
  • Tim Petruk – Kamloops This Week – Triumph & Tragedy: The Rudy Poeschek Story

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
  • Tamsyn Burgmann – The Canadian Press – Not Criminally Responsible
  • Stephen Hume – The Vancouver Sun – Province Failed The Public By Withholding Water Test Data

Jack Webster Award for Science, Technology, Health & Environment
Sponsored by Genome British Columbia
  • Duncan McCue, James Roberts, Glen Kugelstadt – CBC TV – Bill's Place
  • Francis Plourde, Pierre Beaudoin, Harold Dupuis – Le Semaine Verte, Radio-Canada/The National, CBC – How the high demand for almonds is affecting California

City Mike Award (Commentator of the Year)
Presented in memory of Linda Webster

Bill Good Award

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

back to top
Follow us on Twitter @JackWebsterFdn

Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Videos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Good Award