jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2020 Jack Webster Awards:

The 2019 Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Best Breaking News Reporting - Print/Text-Based Online
Frances Bula
The Globe and Mail
Campaign Finance: The Civic Edition
  • Justine Hunter, Gary Mason, Ian Bailey – The Globe and Mail – Legislature Scandal
  • Jesse Winter, Perrin Grauer, Ainslie Cruickshank, David Ball, Alex McKeen, Cherise Seucharan – Star Vancouver – Wet'suwet'en on the Edge

Best Breaking News Reporting - Radio
Gord Macdonald, Terry Schintz, Janet Brown, Mark Madryga, Jordan Armstrong, Kristi Gordon, Erin Ubels
980 CKNW
December Windstorm
  • Andrew Kurjata – CBC Prince George – Enbridge pipeline explodes in Prince George
  • Sonia Aslam, Alison Bailey, Jim Bennie, Matt Coppin, Estefania Duran, Monika Gul, Tim James, Toby Kerr, Ria Renouf, Denise Wong – NEWS 1130 – Peace Arch Crash

Best Breaking News Reporting - Television
Presented in memory of Keith Bradbury
Richard Zussman, Al Coen, Keith Baldrey, Kristi Gordon
Global BC News
Wildfire: State of Emergency 2018
  • Maria Weisgarber, David Molko, Allison Hurst, Michele Brunoro – CTV Vancouver – Wicked Windstorm
  • Global BC News Team – Global BC News – Winter Windstorm

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting - PrintText-Based Online
Kathy Tomlinson
The Globe and Mail
False Promises
  • Laura Kane and Aleksandra Sagan – The Canadian Press – Contagion: Edging closer to a world without antibiotics
  • Daphne Bramham – The Vancouver Sun – Lessons from Portugal: Addiction, winning the war

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting - Radio
Anne Penman, Joan Webber
CBC Vancouver
On Gladys Avenue
  • Bob Keating – The Doc Project - CBC Radio – Winning the Punk Rock Lottery
  • Jean Paetkau, Andrew Kurjata, Mike Clarke, Clare Hennig – CBC Victoria – Beyond Beads and Bannock

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting - Television
John Hua, Sam Cooper, Ted Anhorn, Sergio Magro, Tavis Dunn
Global BC News
Casino Diaries
  • Scott Roberts, Mi-Jung Lee, Jon Woodward, Bhinder Sajan, Penny Daflos, St. John Alexander, David Molko – CTV Vancouver – Legislature Spending Scandal
  • Laura Lynch, Chris Corday – CBC British Columbia – Over the Volcano

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Digital Journalism
Tamara Baluja, Dillon Hodgin, Peter Scobie
CBC Vancouver
Walking a mile in their combat shoes
  • Jon Azpiri, Amy Judd, Simon Little, Jen Okrusko, Richard Zussman – Globalnews.ca – 2019 Wildfires
  • Gordon Hoekstra and Nathan Griffiths – The Vancouver Sun – Online database: More than 120 recommendations delivered to tackle money laundering in BC, Canada

Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
Endowed by Jean Cormier
Brent Jang
The Globe and Mail
Coastal GasLink Blockade
  • Chris Walker, Christine Coulter, Marion Barschel – CBC Kelowna – Sticky Fingers: Fraud in the Okanagan
  • Lori Culbert and Dan Fumano – The Vancouver Sun – Little Mountain: The money and sad history of a long-stalled project

Best Reporting - Chinese Language
Jocelyn Wang
Fairchild TV
Magazine 26: Shortage of Seniors Care Workers
  • Guo Ding, Richard Tang, Yuji Zhang – Omni TV – Discovering the Root of Chinese Ancestors: a Trip to the Gold Rush Town of Barkerville
  • Clement Tang – Fairchild TV – Magazine 26: Managed Alcohol Program

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting
Dustin Godfrey
Abbotsford News
Finding a way home
  • Francesca Fionda, Robin Perelle, Wawmeesh Hamilton, Cloe Logan, Uytae Lee, Zachary Kershman – The Discourse – Fake Art
  • Tyler Harper – Nelson Star – Pineapple Man limbos into the sunset

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
Jason Proctor, Vivian Luk, Stephen Quinn, Geoff Walter, Theresa Duvall
CBC Vancouver
  • Gordon Hoekstra and Kim Bolan – The Vancouver Sun – Money-laundering prosecutions rare, difficult in BC
  • Louise Dickson – Times Colonist – Canada's Impaired Driving Laws - Don't Breathe Easy if You're Sober

Jack Webster Award for Science, Technology & Environment
Penny Sakamoto, Katherine Engqvist, Nicole Crescenzi, Nick Murray, Shalu Mehta, Nina Grossman, Ruby Della Siega, Michelle Gjerde, Vicki Clark, Lily Chan, Cara Robbins, Jennifer Blyth, Arnold Lim
Victoria News - Black Press Media
Special Report: Opioid Crisis
  • Bruce Grierson – Hakai Magazine – The Cavernous World under the Woods
  • Leslie Anthony – Hakai Magazine – Deer Wars: The Forest Awakens

City Mike Award (Commentator of the Year)
The City Mike Award is named after the groundbreaking CJOR program that established Jack Webster as one of BC's pre-eminent commentators, and is presented in memory of Linda Webster
Daphne Bramham
The Vancouver Sun
  • Sandy Garossino – National Observer
  • Mel Rothenburger – CFJC TV

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award
Fabian Dawson

Bill Good Award

back to top
Follow us on Twitter @JackWebsterFdn

Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Videos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Good Award