jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2020 Jack Webster Awards:

2001 recipient at the Webster Awards Dinner

"I had the great fortune to be the first recipient of the Jack Webster Telemedia Fellowship for broadcast journalists earlier this year. As a reporter, with some 20 years experience in covering the courts, I chose to travel to Australia to study restorative justice. In the state of New South Wales, they have one of the largest experiments in restorative justice in the world. It is a scheme to divert young offenders out of the courts, and into community conferences where they face the victim and plot an agreement for reparations and healing from the offence.

Margot Harper
Margot Harper
CTV news

Traveling to Australia, meeting with criminal justice professionals and learning about a new movement in justice was invaluable. Many restorative principles are embodied in Canada's new young offenders act, and I feel I am now somewhat of an authority in this area. I was inspired and invigorated by the trip, and feel that it gave me real perspective on the Canadian courts. For a journalist to step away from the daily grind and learn something new in mid career was the experience of a lifetime. I want to thank Telemedia and the Webster Foundation for that opportunity and encourage other journalists to take advantage of this fabulous opportunity."

The Jack Webster Foundation was established in 1986 to recognize excellence in BC-based journalism.

The work of the Foundation is made possible by the generous sponsorship of Bell Canada, British Columbia Lottery Corporation, CGA Association, CN, HSBC Bank Canada, Labatt Breweries of British Columbia, Terasen Gas, Vancouver International Airport Authority, Vancouver Port Authority and WorkSafe BC.

For more information, please contact Nora Newlands, Executive Director, Jack Webster Foundation at 604-261-6184 or by email at [email protected].

back to top


Previous Recipients

Reports from



Previous Recipients and their Experiences