jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2020 Jack Webster Awards:

2006 Journalism Fellowships Announced

Read one recipient's experience at the Poynter Institute

Jack Webster Foundation Co-Chairs Steve Crombie and Chris Weafer today announced the winners of a $25,000 investment in training and development for BC journalists.

New for 2006, the Jack Webster Foundation Standard Broadcasting Fellowship for research and skills enhancement is now joined by a program to send print, broadcast and online journalists to courses at the famed Poynter Institute in Florida.

"We're proud that the success of the foundation's annual awards dinner has allowed us to expand educational opportunities," Crombie said. "It's tremendously exciting that these awards are coming just as a group of young BC journalists is returning from Malawi and Tanzania on our CIDA-sponsored Seeing the World through New Eyes program," said Weafer. (See the blogs here)

Jack Webster Foundation Poynter Institute Fellowships provide up to $3,000 per fellow to attend a journalism seminar of their choice in St. Petersburg, Florida.

The winners are:

Glenn Bohn
Glenn Bohn
reporter, The Vancouver Sun
Rob Brown
Rob Brown
reporter, CTV British Columbia
Bruce Claggett
Bruce Claggett
editor, News 1130
Neil Godbout
Neil Godbout
news editor, The Prince George Citizen
Betty Selin
Betty Selin
Regional News Director, Standard Radio

Anne MullinsVictoria freelance journalist, Anne Mullens has been awarded the JWF Standard Broadcasting Fellowship. Mullens will use her fellowship to create a radio documentary about Masculinity and the Human Voice, an examination of the social, cultural and commercial implications of the modern male voice.

Previous recipients of this award are Kathryn Gretsinger, Mary Kay Thurston, Connie Monk, Sam Charles, Kate Corcoran, Pamela Post, Dale Drewery, Ed Watson, Margo Harper, George Orr amd Mohini Singh.

back to top


Previous Recipients

Reports from



Previous Recipients and their Experiences