Jack WebsterJack Webster Foundation, Excellence in British Columbia Journalism

We gratefully acknowledge our sponsors:

2013 Jack Webster Awards Winners

Download the news release (pdf, 89.9k)

Fourteen Webster Awards were presented tonight at the 27th annual Jack Webster Awards in Vancouver.
October 30, 2013

Best Reporting of the Year - Print
Gillian Shaw, Lori Culbert, Mark Yuen, Dean Broughton, Mike Hager, The Vancouver Sun: Amanda Todd

Best Reporting of the Year - Radio
Bob Keating, CBC Radio: Johnsons Landing Slide

Best Reporting of the Year - Television
Presented in memory of Keith Bradbury
Jon Woodward, CTV British Columbia: Deadly Recovery

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting
David P. Ball, The Tyee: Cross-border Coal War?

Jack Webster Award for Science, Technology Health & Environment
Pamela Fayerman, The Vancouver Sun: Fallopian Tube Removal for Ovarian Cancer Prevention: a BC Innovation

Best Reporting Chinese Language
Spencer Gall, Fairchild TV Magazine 26, Fairchild TV News and Current Affairs: Against the Odds: Aging out of Foster Care

Best Feature - Print
Denise Ryan, Mark Yuen, The Vancouver Sun: Through Her Sister's Eyes

Best Feature - Radio
Garth Mullins, Lisa Hale, Yvonne Gall, CBC Radio: The Imaginary Albino

Best Feature - Television
Kelvin Redvers, CTV BC - First Story: A Home for Edgar

Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
Endowed by Jean Cormier
Richard Chu, Jen St. Denis, Jenny Wagler, Nelson Bennett, Glen Korstrom, Joannah Connolly, Timothy Renshaw, Business in Vancouver and biv.com: Business in Vancouver B.C. election coverage

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
Peter McKnight, The Vancouver Sun: Neurolaw

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Digital Journalism
Chad Skelton, Lori Culbert, Gordon Hoekstra, The Vancouver Sun: Political Donations and Lobbyists

City Mike Award for Commentator of the Year
Presented in memory of Linda Webster
Simi Sara, CKNW NewsTalk, AM 980

2013 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award
David Baines

The Jack Webster Foundation was established in 1986 to recognize excellence in journalism in British Columbia. The work of the Foundation is made possible by the generous sponsorship of BCGEU, Certified Professional Accountants, CN, Labatt Breweries, FortisBC, HSBC Bank Canada, Port Metro Vancouver, TELUS, WorksafeBC. and Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers

For more information, please contact the Jack Webster Foundation at 604-618-6949 or info@jackwebster.com

back to the What's New page

back to top

Back to the
What's New page